Halal-Additives

FOOD INGREDIENT NUMBERS:
(E-numbers)

 

Additives which are ALWAYS of animal origin, such as (HARAAM):

  • E120 Cochineal : a red colour obtained from female insects
  • E441 Gelatine : derived from the bones and/ or hides of cattle and/ or pigs
  • E542 Edible Bone Phosphate : an extract from animal bones
  • E904 Shellac : a resin from the lac insectWhilst some additives with a common code such as E47, can be either of animal or plant origin and this latter type needs to be investigated on a case-by-case basis per product/ manufacturer.

The main additives you need to be aware of are:

  • Glycerol / Glycerin / Glycerine (E422) – haraam if obtained from pork or non-halal meat sources.
  • Emulsifiers (E470 to E483) – haraam if obtained from pork or non-halal sources.

Edible Bone Phosphate (E542) – haraam if obtained from pork or non-halal meat sources.

food additives

Emulsifier Name Description Halal Status
E100 Curcumin/Turmeric Color  Halal if pure grind turmeric powder or granular. Mushbooh if used as liquid, the solvents has to be Halal. Haraam if hidden ingredient is pork fat based emulsifier in dry mix.
107 Yellow 2G Colors Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal
128 Red 2G Colors Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal
133 Brilliant Blue FCF Colors Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal
154 Brown FK Colors Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal
155 Brown HT Colors Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal
234 Nisin Preservative - other Halal
262 Sodium Acetate Miscellaneous - Acids and their Salts Halal
296 Malic Acid Miscellaneous - Acids and their Salts Halal
297 Fumaric Acid Miscellaneous - Acids and their Salts Halal
350 Sodium Malate Miscellaneous - Salts of Malic Acid Halal
351 Potassium Malate Miscellaneous - Salts of Malic Acid Halal
352 Calcium Malate Miscellaneous - Salts of Malic Acid Halal
353 Metataric Acid Miscellaneous - Salts of Malic Acid Halal
355 Adipic Acid Miscellaneous - Salts of Malic Acid Halal
363 Succinic Acid Miscellaneous - Salts of Malic Acid Halal
370 1,4-Heptonolactane Miscellaneous - Salts of Malic Acid Halal
375 Nicotinic Acid Miscellaneous - Salts of Malic Acid Halal
380 Triammonium Citrate Miscellaneous - Salts of Malic Acid Halal
381 Ammonium Ferric Citrate Miscellaneous - Salts of Malic Acid Halal
385 Calcium Disodium EDTA Miscellaneous - Salts of Malic Acid Halal
416 Karaya Gum Emulsifiers and Stabilizers Halal
430 Polyoxyethane (8) Stearate Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Fatty Acid derivatives Halal if it is 100% from plant fat, Haraam if it is from pork fat
431 Polyoxyethane (40) Stearate Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Fatty Acid derivatives Halal if it is 100% from plant fat, Haraam if it is from pork fat
432 Polyoxyethane (20) Sorbitan / Polysorbate 20 Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Fatty Acid derivatives Halal if it is 100% from plant fat, Haraam if it is from pork fat
433 Polyoxyethane (20) Sorbitan Mono-oleate / Polysorbate 80 Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Fatty Acid derivatives Halal if it is 100% from plant fat, Haraam if it is from pork fat
434 Polyoxyethane (20) Sorbitan Monopalmitate / Polysorbate 40 Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Fatty Acid derivatives Halal if it is 100% from plant fat, Haraam if it is from pork fat
435 Polyoxyethane (20) Sorbitan Monostearate / Polysorbate 60 Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Fatty Acid derivatives Halal if it is 100% from plant fat, Haraam if it is from pork fat
436 Polyoxyethane (20) Sorbitan Tristearate / Polysorbate 65 Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Fatty Acid derivatives Halal if it is 100% from plant fat, Haraam if it is from pork fat
476 Polyglycerol Esters of Polycondensed Esters of Caster Oil Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - salts or Esters of Fatty Acids Halal if it is 100% from plant fat, Haraam if it is from pork fat
478 Lactylated Fatty Acid Esters of Glycerol and Propane-1,2-Diol Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - salts or Esters of Fatty Acids Halal if it is 100% from plant fat, Haraam if it is from pork fat
491 Sorbitan Monostearate Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - salts or Esters of Fatty Acids Halal if it is 100% from plant fat, Haraam if it is from pork fat
492 Sorbitan Tristearate Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - salts or Esters of Fatty Acids Halal if it is 100% from plant fat, Haraam if it is from pork fat
493 Sorbitan Monolaurate Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - salts or Esters of Fatty Acids Halal if it is 100% from plant fat, Haraam if it is from pork fat
494 Sorbitan Mono-oleate Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - salts or Esters of Fatty Acids Halal if it is 100% from plant fat, Haraam if it is from pork fat
495 Sorbitan Monopalmitate Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - salts or Esters of Fatty Acids Halal if it is 100% from plant fat, Haraam if it is from pork fat
500 Sodium Carbonate / Sodium Bicarbonate Miscellaneous - Acids and Salts: Carbonates Halal
501 Potassium Carbonate / Potassium Bicarbonate Miscellaneous - Acids and Salts: Carbonates Halal
503 Ammonium Carbonate Miscellaneous - Acids and Salts: Carbonates Halal
504 Magnesium Carbonate Miscellaneous - Acids and Salts: Carbonates Halal
507 Hydrochloric Acid Miscellaneous - Acids and Salts: Hydrochloric Acid and its Salts Halal
508 Potassium Chloride Miscellaneous - Acids and Salts: Hydrochloric Acid and its Salts Halal
509 Calcium Chloride Miscellaneous - Acids and Salts: Hydrochloric Acid and its Salts Halal
510 Ammonium Chloride Miscellaneous - Acids and Salts: Hydrochloric Acid and its Salts Halal
513 Sulphuric Acid Miscellaneous - Acids and Salts: Sulphuric Acid and its Salts Halal
514 Sodium Sulphate Miscellaneous - Acids and Salts: Sulphuric Acid and its Salts Halal
515 Potassium Sulphate Miscellaneous - Acids and Salts: Sulphuric Acid and its Salts Halal
516 Calcium Sulphate Miscellaneous - Acids and Salts: Sulphuric Acid and its Salts Halal
518 Magnesium Sulphate Miscellaneous - Acids and Salts: Sulphuric Acid and its Salts Halal
524 Sodium Hydroxide Miscellaneous - Alkalis Halal
525 Potassium Hydroxide Miscellaneous - Alkalis Halal
526 Calcium Hydroxide Miscellaneous - Alkalis Halal
527 Ammonium Hydroxide Miscellaneous - Alkalis Halal
528 Magnesium Hydroxide Miscellaneous - Alkalis Halal
529 Calcium Oxide Miscellaneous - Alkalis Halal
530 Magnesium Oxide Miscellaneous - Alkalis Halal
535 Sodium Ferrocyanide Miscellaneous - other Salts Halal
536 Potassium Ferrocyanide Miscellaneous - other Salts Halal
540 Dicalcium Ferrocyanide Miscellaneous - other Salts Halal
541 Sodium Aluminium Phosphate Miscellaneous - other Salts Halal
542 Edible Bone Phosphate (Bone-Meal) Miscellaneous - Anti-Caking Agents Haraam if the bones from pig
544 Calcium Polyphosphates Miscellaneous - Anti-Caking Agents Mushbooh, Halal if it is from minerals, Haraam if it is from pig bones
545 Ammonium Polyphosphates Miscellaneous - Anti-Caking Agents Halal
551 Silicon Dioxide (Silica Salt) Miscellaneous - Silicon Salts Halal
552 Calcium Silicate Miscellaneous - Silicon Salts Halal
553 Magnesium Silicate / Magnesium Trisilicate (Talc) Miscellaneous - Silicon Salts Halal
554 Aluminium Sodium Silicate Miscellaneous - Silicon Salts Halal
556 Aluminium Calcium Silicate Miscellaneous - Silicon Salts Mushbooh, Halal if calcium from mineral rocks, Haraam if calcium from pig bones
558 Bentonite Miscellaneous - other compounds Halal
559 Kaolin (Aluminium Silicate) Miscellaneous - other compounds Halal
570 Stearic Acid Miscellaneous - other compounds Mushbooh, Halal if the source is from plant fat, Haraam if it is from pork fat
572 Magnesium Stearate Miscellaneous - other compounds Mushbooh, Halal if the source is from plant fat, Haraam if it is from pork fat
575 Glucono Delta-Lactone Miscellaneous - other compounds Halal
576 Sodium Gluconate Miscellaneous - other compounds Halal
577 Potassium Gluconate Miscellaneous - other compounds Halal
578 Calcium Gluconate Miscellaneous - other compounds Halal
620 L-Glutamic Acid Miscellaneous - Flavour Enhancers Mushbooh, Halal if it is from plant protein, Haraam if it is from pig protein
621 Monosodium Glutamate (MSG) Miscellaneous - Flavour Enhancers Mushbooh, Halal if all ingredients including culture media to grow culture from Halal source, Haraam if media is from pork fat
622 Monopotassium Glutamate Miscellaneous - Flavour Enhancers Mushbooh, Halal if all ingredients including culture media to grow culture from Halal source, Haraam if media is from pork fat
623 Calcium Glutamate Miscellaneous - Flavour Enhancers Mushbooh, Halal if all ingredients including culture media to grow culture from Halal source, Haraam if media is from pork fat
627 Sodium Guanylate Miscellaneous - Flavour Enhancers Halal if it is obtained from sardines or baker's yeast extract. Mushbooh if it is made from brewer yeast extract, a by-product of beer making
631 Sodium Inosinate Miscellaneous - Flavour Enhancers Halal if it is obtained from sardines. Mushbooh if it is made from brewer yeast extract, a by-product of beer making. Haraam if it is extracted from pig meat.
635 Sodium5-Ribonucleotide Miscellaneous - Flavour Enhancers Mushbooh, it is a combination of E N 627 and EN 631
636 Maltol Miscellaneous - Flavour Enhancers Halal
637 Ethyl Maltol Miscellaneous - Flavour Enhancers Halal
900 Dimethylpolysiloxane Miscellaneous - Flavour Enhancers Halal
901 Beeswax Miscellaneous - Glazing Agents Halal
903 Carnauba Wax Miscellaneous - Glazing Agents Halal
904 Shellac Miscellaneous - Glazing Agents Halal if no if it is not treated with alcohol, two types of shellac is available, the Halal type  is not treated with alcohol but other type is treated with alcohol. A gummy secretion material from the pores of a insect Coccus lacca that feed on Palas trees in India and South Asia. This gummy material is called Lac. Manufactured by Indian companies.
905 Mineral Hydrocarbons Miscellaneous - Glazing Agents Halal
907 Refined Microcrystalline Wax Miscellaneous - Glazing Agents Mushbooh, Halal if obtained from plant fat wax. Haraam if it is obtained from pork fat wax
920 L-Cysteine Hydrochloride Miscellaneous - Compounds used to treat Flour Mushbooh, Haraam if it is obtained from human hair, Halal if it is made from Halal synthetic material. The third source is from chicken/duck feathers. There is difference of opinions among different Islamic scholars. One school of ulema says it is Halal the other says not Halal.
924 Potassium Bromate Miscellaneous - Compounds used to treat Flour Halal
925 Chlorine Miscellaneous - Compounds used to treat Flour Halal
926 Chlorine Dioxide Miscellaneous - Compounds used to treat Flour Halal
927 Azodicarbonamide Miscellaneous - Compounds used to treat Flour Halal
E101 Riboflavin (Vitamin B2) Color Mushbooh (Haraam if from pork liver & Kidney, Halal if 100% plant material
E102 Tartrazine Color Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal
E104 Quinoline Yellow Color Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent other than water has to be Halal
E110 Sunset Yellow FCF / Orange Yellow S Color Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal
E120 Cochineal / Carminic Acid Color Haraam according to Hanafi Fiqqah
E122 Carmoisine / Azorubine Color Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal
E123 Amaranth Color Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal
E124 Ponceau 4R / Cochineal Red A Color Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal
E127 Erythrosine BS Color Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal
E131 Patent Blue V Color Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal
E132 Indigo Carmine / Idigotine Color Halal if use as is as a 100% synthetic color  but if pork glycerin is added as a solvent then it is Haraam
E140 Chlorophyll Color Halal if use 100% powder or Halal if water or vegetable oil was used as a solvent
E141 Copper Complex of Chlorophyll Color Halal if use 100% powder or Halal if water or vegetable oil was used as a solvent
E142 Green S / Acid Brilliant Green BS Color Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal
E150(a-d) Caramel Color/with chemicals Color Halal
E151 Black PN / Brilliant Black BN Color Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal
E153 Carbon Black / Vegetable Carbon (Charcoal) Color Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal
E160a Alpha, Beta, Gamma Color - Carotene Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal
E160b Annatto, Bixin, Norbixin Color - Carotene Halal
E160c Capsanthin / Capsorbin Color- Carotene Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal
E160d Lycopene Color - Carotene Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal
E160e Beta-apo-8-carotenal Color - Carotene Halal if used as 100% dry powder or granular or Halal if vegetable oil is used as a solvent in liquid form as a hidden ingredient. Haraam if pork gelatin is used as hidden ingredient or carrier
E160f Ethyl ester of Beta-apo-8-cartonoic acid Color - Carotene Halal if used as 100% dry powder or granular or Halal if vegetable oil is used as a solvent in liquid form as a hidden ingredient. Haraam if pork gelatin is used as hidden ingredient or carrier
E161a Flavoxanthin Color Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal
E161b Lutein Color Halal if used as 100% dry powder or granular. Haraam if pork gelatin or pork glycerin is added in dry or liquid form
E161c Cryptoxanthin Color Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal
E161d Rubixanthin Color Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal
E161e Violaxanthin Color Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal
E161f Rhodoxanthin Color Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal
E161g Canthaxanthin Color Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal
E162 Beetroot Red / Betanin Color Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal
E163 Anthocyanins Color Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal
E170 Calcium Carbonate (Chalk) Color - Inorganic Halal if obtained from rock mineral and used as 100% dry powder or granular. Mushbooh if used as liquid, solvent has to be Halal
E171 Titanium Dioxide Color - Inorganic Halal
E172 Iron Oxides and Hydroxides Color - Inorganic Halal
E173 Aluminium Color - Inorganic Halal
E174 Silver Color - Inorganic Halal
E175 Gold Color - Inorganic Halal
E180 Pigment Rubine / Lithol Rubine BK Color - Inorganic Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal
E200 Sorbic Acid Preservative Halal
E201 Soduim Sorbate Preservative Halal
E202 Potassium Sorbate Preservative Halal
E203 Calcium Sorbate Preservative Halal
E210 Benzoic Acid Preservative Halal
E211 Sodium Benzoate Preservative Halal
E212 Potassium Benzoate Preservative Halal
E213 Calcium Benzoate Preservative Halal, if calcium obtained from mineral, Mushbooh if it is obtained from bones.
E214 Ethyl 4-hydroxybenzoate Preservative Halal, if used as 100% dry powder or granular. Haraam if alcohol is used as a solvent
E215 Ethyl 4-hydroxybenzoate, Sodium Salt Preservative Halal, if used as 100% dry powder or granular. Haraam if alcohol is used as a solvent
E216 Propyl 4-hydroxybenzoate Preservative Halal, if used as 100% dry powder or granular. Haraam if alcohol is used as a solvent
E217 Propyl 4-hydroxybenzoate, Sodium Salt Preservative Halal, if used as 100% dry powder or granular. Haraam if alcohol is used as a solvent
E218 Methyl 4-hydroxybenzoate Preservative Halal, if used as 100% dry powder or granular. Haraam if alcohol is used as a solvent
E219 Methyl 4-hydroxybenzoate, Sodium Salt Preservative Halal, if used as 100% dry powder or granular. Haraam if alcohol is used as a solvent
E220 Sulphur Dioxide Preservative Halal
E221 Sodium Sulphite Preservative Halal
E222 Sodium Hydrogen Sulphite Preservative Halal
E223 Sodium Metabisulphite Preservative Halal
E224 Potassium Metabisulphite Preservative Halal
E226 Calcium Sulphite Preservative Halal
E227 Calcium Hydrogen Sulphite Preservative Halal, if calcium is obtained from mineral or chemicals. Mushbooh if it is obtained from bones.
E230 Biphenyl / Diphenyl Preservative Halal, if no alcohol is used as a solvent
E231 2-Hydroxybiphenyl Preservative Halal, if no alcohol is used as a solvent
E232 Sodium Biphenyl-2-yl Oxide Preservative Halal, if no alcohol is used as a solvent
E233 2-(Thiazol-4-yl) Benzimidazole Preservative Halal, if no alcohol is used as a solvent
E239 Hexamine Preservative - other Halal
E249 Potassium Nitrate Preservative Halal
E250 Sodium Nitrite Preservative Halal
E251 Sodium Nitrate Preservative Halal
E252 Potassium Nitrate(Saltpetre) Preservative Halal
E260 Acetic Acid Miscellaneous - Acids Halal
E261 Potassium Acetate Miscellaneous - Acids Halal
E262 Potassium Hydrogen Diacetate Miscellaneous - Acids Halal
E263 Calcium Acetate Miscellaneous - Acids Halal
E270 Lactic Acid Miscellaneous - Acids Halal if obtained other than whey. In USA it is always from non dairy source.
E280 Propionic Acid Preservative - Acids Halal
E281 Sodium Propionate Preservative- Acids Halal
E282 Calcium Propionate Preservative- Acids Halal if calcium obtained from mineral, Mushbooh if it obtained from bones
E283 Potassium Propionate Preservative- Acids Halal
E290 Carbon Dioxide Miscellaneous Halal
E300 L-Ascorbic Acid (Vitamin C) Antioxidants- Vitamin C Halal
E301 Sodium-L-Ascorbate Antioxidants- Vitamin C and derivatives Halal
E302 Calcium-L-Ascorbate Antioxidants- Vitamin C and derivatives Halal, if the calcium source is from mineral, Mushbooh if it is from bones
E304 Ascorbyl Palmitate Antioxidants- Vitamin C and derivatives Halal if saturated  fatty acid Palmitic acid is obtained from plant. Haraam if palmitic acid is obtained from pork fat
E306 Natural Extracts rich in Tocopherols Antioxidants- Vitamin E Halal If Tocopherol is obtained from plant fat. Haraam if Tocopherol is obtained from pork fat
E307 Synthetic Alpha-Tocopherol Antioxidants- Vitamin E Halal only if it is made with all Halal synthetic material without alcoholic fermentation synthetic method
E308 Synthetic Gamma-Tocopherol Antioxidants- Vitamin E Halal only if it is made with all Halal synthetic material without alcoholic fermentation synthetic method
E309 Synthetic Delta-Tocopherol Antioxidants- Vitamin E Halal only if it is made with all Halal synthetic material without alcoholic fermentation synthetic method
E310 Propyl Gallate Antioxidants- other Halal
E311 Octyl Gallate Antioxidants- other Halal if obtained from nutgalls or plant secretion
E312 Dodecyl Gallate Antioxidants- other Halal if obtained from nutgalls or plant secretion. Haraam if alcohol was used as solvent
E320 Butylated Hydroxyanisole (BHA) Antioxidants- other Halal if only vegetable oil is used as a carrier. Haraam if the carrier is from pork fat. It is not available as pure 100% chemical.
E321 Butylated Hydroxytoluene (BHT) Antioxidants- other Halal if only vegetable oil is used as a carrier. Haraam if the carrier is from pork fat. It is not available as pure 100% chemical.
E322 Lecithin Emulsifiers and Stabilizers Halal if obtained from soy fat or egg yolk in Europe. It is Halal in USA because it is always obtained from soy fat.
E325 Sodium Lactate Miscellaneous - Salts of Lactic Acid Halal if the lactic acid from non dairy source
E326 Potassium Lactate Miscellaneous - Salts of Lactic Acid Halal if the lactic acid from non dairy source
E327 Calcium Lactate Miscellaneous - Salts of Lactic Acid Halal if the lactic acid from non dairy source and calcium from mineral
E330 Citric Acid Miscellaneous - Citric Acid and its Salts Halal
E331 Sodium Citrates Miscellaneous - Citric Acid and its Salts Halal
E332 Potassium Citrates Miscellaneous - Citric Acid and its Salts Halal
E333 Calcium Citrates Miscellaneous - Citric Acid and its Salts Halal if calcium source is not from bones
E334 Tartaric Acid Miscellaneous - Tartaric Acid and its Salts Halal, if it is not obtained from wine by-product, in USA it is Halal because it is obtained from un-fermented grapes.
E335 Sodium Tartrates Miscellaneous - Tartaric Acid and its Salts Halal, if it is not obtained from wine by-product, in USA it is Halal because it is obtained from un-fermented grapes.
E336 Potassium Tartrates (Cream of Tartar) Miscellaneous - Tartaric Acid and its Salts Halal, if it is not obtained from wine by-product, in USA it is Halal because it is obtained from un-fermented grapes.
E337 Potassium Sodium Tartrates Miscellaneous - Tartaric Acid and its Salts Halal, if it is not obtained from wine by-product, in USA it is Halal because it is obtained from un-fermented grapes.
E338 Orthophosphoric Acid Miscellaneous - Phosphoric Acid and its Salts Halal
E339 Sodium Phosphates Miscellaneous - Phosphoric Acid and its Salts Halal
E340 Potassium Phosphates Miscellaneous - Phosphoric Acid and its Salts Halal
E341 Calcium Phosphates Miscellaneous - Phosphoric Acid and its Salts Halal if calcium from mineral source
E400 Alginic Acid Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Alginates Halal
E401 Sodium Alginate Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Alginates Halal
E402 Potassium Alginate Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Alginates Halal
E403 Ammonium Alginate Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Alginates Halal
E404 Calcium Alginate Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Alginates Halal if calcium source is from mineral
E405 Propane-1,2-Diol Alginate Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Alginates Halal
E406 Agar Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - other plant gums Halal
E407 Carrageenan Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - other plant gums Halal
E410 Locust Bean Gum (Carob Gum) Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - other plant gums Halal
E412 Guar Gum Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - other plant gums Halal
E413 Tragacanth Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - other plant gums Halal.
E414 Gum Acacia (Gum Arabic) Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - other plant gums Halal
E415 Xanthan Gum Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - other plant gums Halal
E420 Sorbitol Sugar Alcohols Halal
E421 Mannitol Sugar Alcohols Halal
E422 Glycerol Sugar Alcohols Mushbooh, called Glycerin in USA, Halal if it is from plant fat, Haraam if it is from pork fat
E440a Pectin Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Pectin and derivatives Halal
E440b Amidated Pectin Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Pectin and derivatives Halal
E450a,b,c Sodium and Potassium Phosphates and Polyphosphates Miscellaneous Halal
E460 Microcrystalline / Powdered Cellulose Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Cellulose and derivatives Halal
E461 Methylcellulose Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Cellulose and derivatives Halal
E463 Hydroxypropylcellulose Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Cellulose and derivatives Halal
E464 Hydroxypropyl-Methylcellulose Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Cellulose and derivatives Halal
E465 Ethylmethylcellulose Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Cellulose and derivatives Halal
E466 Carboxymethylcellulose, Sodium Salt Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Cellulose and derivatives Halal
E470 Sodium, Potassium and Calcium Salts of Fatty Acids Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - salts or Esters of Fatty Acids Mushbooh, Halal if it is from plant fat, Haraam if it is from porkl fat
E471 Mono-and Diglycerides of Fatty Acids Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - salts or Esters of Fatty Acids Mushbooh, Halal if it is from plant fat, Haraam if it is from porkl fat
E472 Various Esters of Mono-and Diglycerides of Fatty Acids Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - salts or Esters of Fatty Acids Mushbooh, Halal if it is from plant fat, Haraam if it is from porkl fat
E473 Sucrose Esters of Fatty Acids Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - salts or Esters of Fatty Acids Mushbooh, Halal if it is from plant fat, Haraam if it is from pork fat
E474 Sucroglycerides Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - salts or Esters of Fatty Acids Mushbooh, Halal if it is from plant fat, Haraam if it is from pork fat
E475 Polyglycerol Esters of Fatty Acids Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - salts or Esters of Fatty Acids Mushbooh, Halal if it is from plant fat, Haraam if it is from pork fat
E477 Propane-1,2-Diol Esters of Fatty Acids Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - salts or Esters of Fatty Acids Mushbooh, Halal if it is from plant fat, Haraam if it is from pork fat
E481 Sodium Stearoyl-2-Lactylate Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - salts or Esters of Fatty Acids Mushbooh, Halal if it is from plant fat, Haraam if it is from pork fat
E482 Calcium Stearoyl-2-Lactylate Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - salts or Esters of Fatty Acids Mushbooh, Halal if it is from plant fat, Haraam if it is from pork fat
E483 Stearyl Tartrate Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - salts or Esters of Fatty Acids Mushbooh, Halal if it is from plant fat, Haraam if it is from pork fat
Emulsifier Name Description Halal Status
Top